top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanine Habana

It's the final countdown! And here are my favourite hacks to an easier 3rd trimester:

1) EPSOM SALT BATHS

This is by far the most relaxing treat for me at the moment, and also, this can (and should) be continued after delivery to help the recovery process. Epsom salt baths have a long list of benefits, as it draws out aches and pains, and even can restore depleted magnesium levels, leading to a better state of wellbeing. (Not to mention a fantastic remedy for haemorrhoids!)


2) LITRES OF LOTIONS

Probably due to the fact that this is my second pregnancy, my belly feels much larger this time (even though my weight is less, very strange!) But at this point I am feeding my skin with nutrients easily 10 times per day! It needs all the help it can get for this big baby boy on the way! My best lotions are ones that contain actual elastin, collagen and vitamin E oil. I apply the creams first in order to absorb, and then I layer the oil over it to keep moist.


3) BELLY SUPPORT

Wonderful Amazon! We all know about the great belly tuckers and waist trainers you can find for after delivery to tuck you back into shape, but what about those last weeks op pregnancy when your belly gets super heavy? Well, EUREKA! I found a wonderful belly support band online (see pic attached) with wonderful back support to help me carry this load!


4) BRA EXTENDERS

These lovely gadgets might not seem like something you might need at first, but come around week 30 and you will be glad you got them! Especially if your belly is high up like mine, that bra circumference becomes irritatingly tight. And that's when these extenders bring some well deserved relief and comfort.


5) LIGHT EXERCISE

What I love about trimester two is how great you feel, and one's capacity for exercising and moving, almost as if there is no belly! But then halfway though trimester three, all of a sudden, you slow down, feel heavy and uncomfortable, and moving is not so much fun anymore. Here is where I keep it light, but still try to do the important basics. Keeping the blood flowing and flushing those hormones with good circulation is just too beneficial for mother and baby to pass up. (See blog about PLANK SQUAT ROW)


6) LOW CARBS

I GET HUNGRY! And what is more comforting than carbs? Well, because I know my weaknesses (like carbs) I can tackle them head on - so when trimester three comes around, my 'low carbs' switch goes on and that is non-negotiable. Because the only feeling better than being comforted by carbs, is not putting on unnecessary weight that will only make you feel heavy and sluggish. Half the post-pregnancy weight-loss battle won, right there.


7) RASPBERRY LEAF TEA

Who knew? As we are currently living in Europe, this is the first time I was informed about the wonderful benefits of raspberry tea! So I am not sure if this is an ages old European secret, but it works! Raspberry leaf tea not only strengthens your womb muscles for delivery, but it also serves as a cervical relaxant. Basically, an all round miracle tea for an easier delivery!


8) SUPPORT PILLOWS

Oh the nights.. Sleeplessness not only comes from the frequent bathroom visits, but for some it can be really uncomfortable falling asleep as your body as now almost at its max. Support pillows (whether the full body pregnancy one, or a bunch of your own household pillows in the right places) helps very much to keep your back and hips from straining. A medium to thin pillow under your belly helps the back to not be pulled by the extra weight, and a small pillow between your thighs helps your hips stay

more aligned.



9) COMPRESSION

I have a gorgeous 3 year old boy, (and husband to cook for) so this means I am on my feet more now than I was with my first pregnancy. So at night I love to put my feet up and get the weight off, and if you find your ankles are more swollen than usual, the compression socks are a must have to keep your calves and ankle-circulation optimal. You might just need help getting them on and off!

226 views0 comments
ABOUT
Me

 

Hi there and welcome to my blog! My name is Janine Habana: Super lucky wife and mom of (soon to be) two boys. I am a fitness professional, passionate about pregnancy and post-pregnancy fitness, women and all the things that make us who we are! I hope this blog will bring you encouragement, information, and inspiration!

bottom of page