top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanine Habana

Scrumptious Lactation Rusks for Moms on the go!

There's nothing I enjoy more in the morning than a good, healthy rusk with my coffee, to get my engines started! I am currently preparing for my baby's arrival in a few weeks, and baked a batch of my favourite rusks for those busy mornings ahead - but with one TWIST - I edited my recipe to be breastfeeding friendly and lactogenic (stimulate breast milk production). The result was DELICIOUS! Now they are not just my rusks anymore, but hubby also enjoys it - and why not? These rusks are loaded with goodness and good for the entire family!


You can also easily adapt this recipe to suit your dietary preferences. The flour can be replaced by healthier/more specific versions, and the main superfood grains can also be swapped and changed (see my previous post on breast feeding super foods).


This recipe makes one batch of rusks (approximately 32 - 36 pieces)

[Note: in this recipe 1 cup = 250 mL]



INGREDIENTS


250 g softened butter

Half cup brown sugar (125 mL)

2 eggs

500 g self raising flour (or any specific preferred flour, but remember to add baking powder to it if you do replace this ingredient)

Half teaspoon salt

2 cups sesame seeds*

2 cups wheatgerm*

1 cup oats*

*(These lactogenic grains are my favourite, but you can also replace them with brans, muesli's, almond flakes, aniseed.. you decide!)

150 mL milk (replaceable with almond milk or lactose free milk)


METHOD


1. Combine the butter, sugar and eggs in a mixing bowl and whisk.


2. Add flour, salt and grains (sesame seeds, wheatgerm, oats) to the whisked mixture, and mix well.


3. Add milk and mix well with hands until it is a thick sticky dough.

(You can also let your automated mixer do this work if it has a dough kneader attachment)


4. Prepare a baking tray with non-stick spray, lay out the batter evenly in the pan, (press it out evenly with your hands) and cut the rusks into your desired size.

(With a knife or sharp utensil)


5. Bake in a preheated oven at 180 - 200 degrees celsius for 45 minutes.


6. After baking, arrange rusks with spaces in-between for aeration, and dry out overnight at approximately 70 degrees celsius.

(Turn them around halfway though the process for even crunchiness)


Enjoy!

238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
ABOUT
Me

 

Hi there and welcome to my blog! My name is Janine Habana: Super lucky wife and mom of (soon to be) two boys. I am a fitness professional, passionate about pregnancy and post-pregnancy fitness, women and all the things that make us who we are! I hope this blog will bring you encouragement, information, and inspiration!

bottom of page